Skip to main content

Online Services: Library At Home

One-stop guide for online services available through the Cambridge Public Library

Library Collections

Our library locations may be closed, but our online collections are very much open! Enjoy these services from the comfort of your home. 

hoopla
Instantly borrow e-books, audiobooks, movies, music and more! Hoopla digital is a streaming service with an enormous selection of content that is available with no waits. During our closure, hoopla check-out limits have been increased to satisfy demand. 

A special thank you to the Cambridge Public Library Foundation for their added support for hoopla during our closure.  

Kanopy

Kanopy is a video streaming service of more than 30,000 films, including the Criterion Collection. Cambridge residents can create a free account to begin their viewing. For a limited time, Kanopy is offering a collection of credit-free viewing, where select items viewed won't count toward the monthly check out limit. 

Overdrive

Overdrive provides access to thousands of e-books and audiobooks with just the click of a button.  From best sellers to the "I've been meaning to read this" titles, Overdrive has something for everyone.  In addition to adult titles, Overdrive has a large catalog of youth materials to enjoy at every age. We recommend the Libby App for all your mobile Overdrive needs. 

Book Lists

Check out our current and previous book lists curated just for you by our amazing librarians! For additional personalized recommendations, you can contact us here.

 

Database(s) of the Week

Explore Back To School Resources with Hoopla! 

Back To School Grades K-4

Back To School Grades 5 - 8

Back To School For Parents

For a complete list of databases available through the Cambridge Public Library, click here. 

For a complete list of databases available through the Minuteman Library Network, click here. hnology, and an adaptive algorithm that delivers practical phrases  refrom real s

Magazines, Music and More

undefined

New Magazines have been added to the Overdrive Digital Magazine Collection! Please check out The New Yorker, The Economist, Wired, Rolling Stone, and much more! 

Flipster

Flipster is a selection of digital magazines available on your desktop computer or mobile device accessible to Cambridge residents with a valid library card.  Magazine titles include The AtlanticThe New Yorker, People, Real Simple, Scientific American, Yoga Journal and more. Check out your favorite magazine with no waits! 

Boston Globe
Includes articles from 1980 to today. 

New York Times

Enjoy free access to NYTimes.com. Click the title above to get a 72-hour pass and read unlimited articles, courtesy of Minuteman Library Network.

hoopla Music

Interested in some Billboard Chart Toppers?  Or Broadway Musicals?  Or a trip down memory lane?
There's a large variety of music available in hoopla. Be sure to check out these Bonus Borrows which won't count toward your monthly check-out limit. 

Overdrive Magazines

Check out a large selection of magazines available with no waits. 

World Languages

undefined